Bask in the glow


Defaults

I’ve seen a number of people posting their default apps and thought I’d jump in to the fun too. It’s something I’ve been thinking about and how many of the defaults I use are truly defaults.

I would do very poorly if I were “competing” in Hemispheric Views 097 - Duel of the Defaults! because many of the default options on the device or platform aren’t what I am using. For many categories I use a number of things because 1) I can never be content 2) There’s always a new shiny object to chase. Notes being the biggest area. Having recently given up SimpleNote, Google Keep and Joplin and trying to simplify with… three different apps.

Moving from Android to iOS in the past year is why most of my photos are in Google Photos but more recently newer ones are in Apple Photos. But I’m also looking at other options, using Nextcloud for storage and Photoprism/Immich for organizing them.

It will be fun to look back on this list and see how many of them are still in use.

I always wait too long Robb Knight is even maintaining a list of people who are joining in.