Bask in the glow


It's Okay to Ask for Help

As I’ve gotten older and settled into adulthood, I’ve come to realize that it’s perfectly fine to say, “I don’t know” when faced with a problem. For the longest time, I’ve felt this pressure, self-imposed perhaps, to figure everything out on my own. But the truth is, no one has all the answers, and that’s okay.

Take today, for example. I went to Jiffy Lube to get an oil change and have my back windshield wiper replaced. It was lightly raining so when I used it, I noticed it was not touching the back window.

When I stopped, I looked at it and tried to adjust it. But it just wasn’t touching the window to wipe it. The old me would have stubbornly tried to solve it myself, convinced that I should be able to fix it.

Surely if I just keep trying. Or look up a video or some advice online I could solve it.

Instead, I went back and told them what was going on. One of the guys took a look and said the one they installed appeared to be slightly too long. So he popped it off and put another one on. It worked perfectly.

I need to remember it’s ok to ask for help. I don’t need to fix everything on my own. Especially when the fix is as simple as replace the part that has an issue.